Media Day and Meet The RailRiders

A big thank you goes out to everyone that attended yesterday’s media day festivities here at PNC Field and for all our friends that joined us up in the Mohegan Sun Club Level for last night’s Meet The RailRiders event. It was one of the best-attended events we’ve had in recent memory and the excitement of Opening Day in Syracuse tomorrow makes it that much more exciting.

In case you didn’t get a chance to stop by the ballpark yesterday and partake in the public gathering, here are some news and notes from yesterday to get you caught up.

It was announced yesterday that the New York Yankees had designated infielder Eduardo Nunez for assignment in order to clear a spot on the club’s 40-man roster for fellow infielder Yangervis Solarte. It was originally reported that Nunez could be ticketed for duty with SWB, but yesterday’s announcement now means New York has 10 days to either trade or outright release the veteran. Hypothetically, if Nunez does clear waivers, the Yankees could then re-sign him to a new contract, but the chance Nunez clears the DFA limbo process is minimal. Here is a nice story from the Times-Tribune’s Donnie Collins regarding the relationship between Nunez and the parent club, Bruce Billings getting the nod on Opening Day, and who could close come April 3 (LINK).

Another big story from yesterday’s slew of events include how Preston Claiborne is adjusting to life outside of spring training. Claiborne had a rough spring and as Paul Sokoloski notes HERE, the obvious goal for Claiborne is to work his way back to the bright lights of New York, something he seems determined to do.

RailRiders president/GM Rob Crain stopped by during yesterday’s events to answer a few questions with WBRE’s Eyewitness News regarding this upcoming season and some improvements that are on the horizon for PNC Field. You can find a link to Rob’s interview HERE.

 

Perhaps the biggest new yesterday that was announced is that Billings will get the nod for the RailRiders on Opening Day against the Syracuse Chiefs. Dave Rosengrant of the Times-Leader has a nice recap of yesterday’s festivities and what some fans can expect as the club’s home opener draws near (LINK).

Finally, if you missed yesterday’s Meet the RailRiders event here at PNC Field, no worries. Our good friends over at WNEP have you covered. Here are some links for you to get to know some of the guys that will be calling NEPA home over the next couple of months.

Media Day: http://wnep.com/2014/04/01/swb-railriders-media-day-at-pnc-field/

Meet Dave Mileyhttp://lackawannacounty.wnep.com/news/news/1204343-meet-manager-dave-miley-railriders

Meet Bruce Billings: http://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-bruce-billings-of-the-railriders/

Meet Preston Claiborne: http://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-preston-claiborne-of-the-railriders/

Meet Matt Daleyhttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-matt-daley-of-the-railriders/

Meet Corban Josephhttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-corbin-joseph-of-the-railriders/

Meet Jim Millerhttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-jim-miller-of-the-railriders/

Meet John Ryan Murphyhttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-john-ryan-murphy-of-the-railriders/

Meet Antoan Richardsonhttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-antoan-richardson-of-the-railriders/

Meet Austin Rominehttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-austin-romine-of-the-railriders/

Meet Scott Sizemorehttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-scott-sizemore-of-the-railriders/

Meet Chase Whitleyhttp://wnep.com/2014/04/01/meet-chase-whitley-of-the-railriders/

Joseph and Russ Canzler each met with the media: http://wnep.com/2014/04/01/joseph-and-canzler-speak-with-the-media/

Fan also had their opportunity to meet individual players yesterday: http://wnep.com/2014/04/01/baseball-fans-get-to-meet-the-railriders/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

%d bloggers like this: